Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)

« Back to Glossary Index

What Is the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC)?

The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) is a forum of 21 member economies from the Asia-Pacific region that aims to promote free trade and economic cooperation among its members. APEC was established in 1989 and includes countries from Asia, the Pacific, and the Americas.

The main objectives of APEC are to promote economic growth and development in the region, increase regional trade and investment, and enhance cooperation among member economies in areas such as customs procedures, technical standards, and intellectual property rights.

APEC operates on the basis of non-binding commitments, meaning that its decisions are not legally binding on its members. However, member economies are expected to work towards implementing the policies and initiatives agreed upon in APEC meetings.

APEC holds annual meetings and conferences where leaders and senior officials from member economies discuss issues such as regional trade and investment, economic policy, and cooperation on issues such as energy, climate change, and sustainable development.

APEC has been instrumental in facilitating trade and investment among its member economies, and has helped to create a more integrated and prosperous Asia-Pacific region. However, APEC has also faced criticism for its lack of concrete results and its focus on non-binding commitments, which some argue has limited its effectiveness in addressing the region’s economic challenges.

« Back to Glossary Index
Scroll to Top

Join Our List

Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers.